Latest Projects…

This post is going to be a big dump of everything I’ve been working on recently.  None of them are my original patterns, so I won’t be putting them in the pattern section, but of course I’ll link you guys to the originals!  In this post I have the Beekeeper’s Quilt, Maile Sweater, and Grrlfriend Market Bag.

I’m in the process of making the Beekeeper’s Quilt for myself but have taken a small break to finish my summer requests.  I have about 70 “hexipuffs” so far!  only approximately 430 to go…

Image

They are so much fun to play with though.  So squishy!  My favorite yarn to use so far has been the Manos Del Uruguay.  It’s a merino that just gets softer and softer the more you work with it.  They make for an excellent, and extremely portable little project.  I rarely go anywhere without my notions for these little guys. I’ve gotten to the point where I can make these in 30 minutes, so if you’re a student like me, you can make these during lecture.  Most airlines allow knitting needles, so they also make for a good mindless plane project, too.

I made the Maile Sweater for one of my supervisors’ baby who is I think about 7 or 8 months old.  This wasn’t a request, it was just a gift because she was away from work for a while.  It fit the baby perfectly!  I wish I had pictures of the baby wearing it, but you’ll just have to trust me – it is ADORABLE.  The pattern itself is a little bit confusing, but I’m sure if you sat down and figured it out instead of stressing about finals like I did, it won’t be.

Image

Image

Image

Finally, the Grrlfriend Market Bag.

It’s a fun, quick knit that allows you to do a little bit of improvising.  I knit this up in literally a couple of days using a cotton and linen blend.  I’m using it as my “finished project” bag so I don’t have a bunch of projects just hanging out around my room.

Image

Sorry for the bad picture – it was taken late at night and my overhead light was the best I had.

Leave a Reply

